04 Mar 2024: Papeete

There are now non-stop flights from Seattle to Tahiti — who knew? Not every day of the week of course. The bird comes in from Paris, so it’s their Europe connection as well. For a smaller outfit, they do try hard: the bird was a newer 787, departure and arrival on time, luggage was quick. Foodwise I’d give them a B+ (adequate, nothing special).

Transfer was organized by the cruise line, and the hotel was only minutes away. So I was tucked in to my room before midnight local time (even though it’s a 9 hour flight, same time zone as Hawaii).

I’m in a large an very comfortable garden view room on ground level, with a charming patio.

Nearby is the main restaurant: open-air and overlooking the infinity pool (one of two). The breakfast buffet was enormous!

I like to make first days of longer trips rather quiet, to adjust to the weather (50 degrees F warmer than Seattle, where it was snowing) and the time zone. So the day was spent reading and exploring the large resort.

Lodging: Intercontinental Hotel and Resort, Papeete Tahiti

4 responses to “04 Mar 2024: Papeete

  1. debraannstrickland

    DREAMY!

  2. Love following your journeys and looking forward to seeing your route ahead. Barb Emel

    >

  3. How paradise-ical. Acclimatize well, you!

  4. So cool!! I didn’t know you were going – perfect and French language around you. I can’t imagine that warmth and sun, although today looks pretty good so far. I don’t know about you, but in our nearly 19 years here I’ve experienced this as the grayest winter we’ve had.

    Bises, Susan

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.