12 Oct 2023: Frómista

This is my last day on the Camino this year, due to the spacing of towns with transit connections out here on the meseta. I could walk a day or two longer, but those towns have no connection to Madrid. It’s a shorter day, with several very pleasant hours of walking along the Canal de Castilla, watching the sunrise.

My timing is good — that’s a sheet of clouds coming down from the north, due to bring several days of rain.

This is a good place to stop, being a larger town with all the necessary services.

It’s been a good trip. The new gear has worked out well. I’m very fond of the new fleece (Alpha One, from Polarfleece), weighing in at 3.8oz (less than 100g). And the Hoka Speedgoat shoes proved perfect for all the pavement walking, although they’re already wearing through the sole so will need to be replaced before next year. I’ll also replace my rain gear, or renew the DWR coating: I’m tired of it wetting through and leaving me soaked. I packed for cooler weather than I actually experienced, so I will leave home the puffy jacket, gloves and beanie next time. Other than that, it’s all good. Every trip I make some minor changes in the gear.

Stopping in Fromista leaves me with about 31 days of walking, so the 2024 trip will be about as long as this one.

Halfway! Yay!

Lodging: Hotel San Martin, Fromista

6 responses to “12 Oct 2023: Frómista

  1. Kay Ellen Gilmour

    Well done. Thank you so much for including me in your journey. All the best to you. I look forward to your wonderful reports again next year. Stay safe. Stay well. Kay Gilmour
    Sent from my iPhone

  2. It’s been a pleasure walking with you vicariously, Rachel! Thank you!

  3. Gary and I have followed along and thank you for your excellent reports – we enjoyed your photos of food, scenery and sites. We traveled in northern Spain 55 years ago and you brought back fond memories. Congratulations Rachel!

  4. Excellent reporting on what seems to have been a great, and well-planned journey. Congratulations!

    Sent from Mail for Windows

  5. Safe travels home and thanks for sharing your pilgrimage…Buen Camino!

  6. Congratulations! Beautiful views of the canal and sunrise. Ya done well!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.