19 Sep 2023: Zariquiegui

Unfortunately, I got a late start this morning from Pamploma. I’d lost my locker key and had to wait for the day clerk’s arrival at 1000 to get all my gear. So I wasn’t underway until 1030. This was no problem as it was a short day (I was thinking 6 km).

True, the segment from the penultimate town was 6 km; I’d omitted the nearly 6km additional to reach it, though. So, 12 km with a late start on a sunny, warm (hot by Seattle standards) day. But I rationed my water, ate some snack bars for lunch, and managed to make it in, mid-afternoon. I was so glad I’d shortened the day!

This is a tiny town; the full Alburgue at 30 beds probably doubles the population. All 4-man pods (2 double bunks per), which was fine. Three showers worked fine; we even made the two toilets work — although we could have wished for a more reliable supply of TP. It has a small bar in-house, along with a small restaurant serving a pilgrim menu: soup/salad, pork/chicken, flan/yogurt.

Lodging: Alburgue San Andres, Zariquiegui

One response to “19 Sep 2023: Zariquiegui

  1. debraannstrickland

    Greetings from Bainbridge! Sending all the good thoughts your way. Love these updates!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.