09 May 2024: Transit

Little did I know, when I added the Hong Kong stopover to this trip, that I was trading an 8 hour flight for 2 hours plus a 4 hour layover plus a 14 hour flight! Fortunately I was able to upgrade the seat to Economy Premium, so it was tolerable (highly recommended!!). Anyhow, United has really upped their game of late; everything went quite well.

Since I had to overnight at the Seattle airport beforehand (due to ferry schedules), I had the chance to meet other travelers, mostly toing or froing from Alaska cruises (yes, this early… brrr!).

In days of yore I used to fly out of SFO quite often, but they’ve done tons of construction since, adding at least three new concourses. Quite the busy place, but well-appointed with food service, toilets, and the occasional people-mover (a type of flat escalator). Fortunately I did not have to clear security again when I changed to the adjacent international concourse.

We arrived at the new (I say that, built around 2000, but anything since my last visit 30 years ago qualified) humongous airport a little early; immigration was well organized and less than 15 minutes, bags were already coming out, customs was Euro-style self-declare-minimum. ATM right at the exit, and the Limo service was right where OAT had predicted. So it was a very smooth transfer, all told. Lots of hoofing, though (did I mention how big this place was?).

Night had fallen by the time I was riding into town; all the high-rise apartment blocks were lighted up; so was the new suspension bridge (it must be a pretty sight in daytime). So many freeways! I can see the competition for land between the high-rise buildings and the freeways. Every square meter seems to be covered with one or the other.

My hotel is in Kowloon, and the freeway exit dropped us into the heart of the Produce Market. Loading and unloading time at the produce market, pallets and pallets stacked much higher than my head, of cartons of fruits and veggies. Needless to say, traffic moved through at a snail pace but I got a good look.

Hotel is very centrally located, reasonably priced and catering to business people and events, in usual OAT fashion. Time for some shut-eye!

Lodging: The CityView Hotel, Hong Kong

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.