12 Sep 2023… And They’re Off!

For the first time since my last walk in 2019, I’m off on the next leg of pilgrimage. It’s been quite the journey: Covid, dementia caregiving, and widowhood, for starters. But now I can travel again, and I feel my clock is ticking. So, here I go on to Spain (I have so far come from Prague, and you can catch up on those posts in the links elsewhere on this page). This year I plan to cover a little more than half of Spain, ending in Leon. Then I will return in 2024 to finish in Santiago.

This particular year has already proven to be a challenge, as the World Rugby Cup managed to fill up the trains yesterday. And the last of three train legs ticketed for today has been cancelled as well. Usually they lay on a bus as substitute, or else I’ll take a taxi.

Since I first passed through CDG in 2004, I must say things have improved. The map on their website is invaluable-I highly recommend printing it out. The signage is hugely improved and multi-lingual (French, English, characters). It’s easy to find the shuttle between terminals.

Since the train yesterday was full, I stayed at an airport hotel (inexpensive by exorbitant airport standards). Great location, friendly staff, bare minimum of furnishings in the room but all the absolute necessities; the shower lacked hot water but the breakfast was stellar.

Lodging: Ibis Styles

2 responses to “12 Sep 2023… And They’re Off!

  1. Sounds like fun!

  2. Judith T Williams

    Thanks for sharing your adventure with me via email. Wishing you a safe and wonderful trip…Buen Camino! Judy W

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.