More Sand and Heat

Happy Canada Day! Oh, how some green trees, blue lakes, and cool air would feel so good about now.

Day before yesterday, the thermometer hit 110. For the second day — and the reports are that it will only get hotter.  So I’ve started wearing the gel-filled neck-wrap that was sitting on my desk unused for weeks; it really helps!

Yesterday and today it’s been a bit cooler, due to the all-day sandstorms. So I’ve also been carrying (and wearing on occasions) my shemagh.

And I’ve been extended by a week, due to the vagaries of personnel rotation. So I will now be leaving on Sunday, 26 July, and back on Bainbridge the night of Monday, 27 July. Just 3.5 weeks to go!

Leave a Reply

