Speaking of Coco

So now that you know what the entire rest of our local troops are wearing, you may be curious, Dear Reader, as to what I’m wearing myself.

First of all, of course, are the desert combat boots. The roads are are very rough, deeply rutted, and a very large gravel (golf ball or hens egg sized) is used, so having a very stiff sole is terribly helpful. Finding them in my size was a real challenge, and I truly wish they were easier to put on and take off. Notwithstanding, they are lightweight and quite comfortable.

The company has provided two polo shirts in company colors, embroidered with the company crest. So I wear these when I am on “official business” type tasks, such as conducting audits. I also brought a couple Travelsmith tropical shirts, which are proving very comfortable in the heat. Alas, these are no longer being carried by Travelsmith.

I brought two sorts of trousers: a sturdy tactical pant which is on the warm side but which can stand the industrial laundry, and a much lighter weight Tilley pant which is very comfortable in the heat but which requires I make a trip to the laundromat. The Tilley pants are so light and comfortable in the heat that I’ve ordered shorts as well.

I have  a Tilley hat, of course. The wide brim is essential in this land of no shade.

And sunglasses. And 80-weight sunscreen (yes! I found that in Seattle! Can you imagine??).

2 responses to “Speaking of Coco

  1. I can picture you there, thanks for mentioning your attire…as we still need our fleece, it’s hard to imagine heat and sunblock of such magnitude! Do you want to send a poem for Sunday? I’d be glad to read it for you…I’d also like two scarves, they sound lovely! No orange and solid or small patterns are my preference.

  2. I can’t imagine being in a place where you need and get to use spf80! It is still fairly cool with occasional peaks of the sun, so I’m a tad jealous until I remember how uncomfortable that kind of heat is. You’ve mentioned the wide variety of military personnel. Is there an equally wide international representation in the civilian population? And do you think you will try out the various religious offerings in the same way that you partake of the various dining options. I agree with Steph that your curious nature is a wonderful thing and gives you a keen eye for observation and us the benefit of those observations. I imagine it helps make this a far more enjoyable experience. Of course if you lacked that curiosity you might have said, “Go to Afghanistan? Are you crazy?” And so from my comfy and vastly less interesting nest, I am enjoying your experience. Oh, and at $2.00 a piece I’ll splurge and happily order a pastel and a jewell tone scarf!

Leave a Reply

